Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

“Governments” do they do anything what is required of them on time? Is there a right answer to that? I don’t know.” I think that all the governments work towards their own benefit and in doing so they only focus on solving what is or will be beneficial for their tenure and what helps them to get re-elected and that also varies depending upon how far or near the elections are. Reflecting on the following examples, one can comprehend how governments work only for their own welfare.

In Pakistan as soon as the elections approach, a year or may be two, depending upon the amount of time required to amend a particular problem, different political sectors come into action. Since there are four different provinces in Pakistan, each party, native to its province, starts to promote change by their speeches and campaign. The elections are just around the corner, and in Karachi, which lies in Sindh; the Sindh Government started repairing the main highways of Karachi from an year before in hopes to get elected. There was no sign of any government official 3 years before and it has been a long time since the roads were dilapidated and needed exigent repairs. People continued to travel with the distress and now, out of blue, Sindh Government showed up to the rescue. Not so much sudden, as a political move.

On the other hand, when a political party gets elected and wins most seats in the major provinces, then depending upon which state the party belonged to, has all the development and progress taking place. The previous government that was elected in Pakistan belonged to Punjab. And since there selection, they have only developed and forwarded Punjab by introducing a Bus Transit System, giving free laptops to university going students through Prime Minister Scheme. And other provinces just got unsound roads, traffic congestion and no electricity.

So, in my opinion, Governments only solve problems immediate or anticipated only when they feel the need to and when it is worthy of their self interest and proves beneficial to them in any sort of way.