A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Does anyone in his or her senses knowingly commit a crime just for the heck of it? Is there a way to know if someone committed a crime on what grounds? What were the circumstances that led someone to do the do the evil deed? I guess one might not know if only looked at the crime and not the whole story behind it. Therefore, there are trials and judges and jury to decide if the person committing a crime is truly guilty of what he did and is indicted accordingly. Even though infringing should not be an acceptable societal norm, I believe that a criminal should not be devoid of his or her civil rights and the benefit from his or her labor.

For instance, we say a poor father steals money from somebody and even though he regrets doing it, he is hapless to do so because he has to feed his family and is unable to because of having no job and/or is not able to provide for his whole family beacause of the meagre salary he is getting. In this case, how is one going to decide the penalty on him? At the end of the day, he is a father and did whatever he could to provide for his family and the need and responsibility to do so led him to the lengths of violating the law and his rectitude.

Another instance of why a person should be able to retain his rights and the fruit of his labor is because people who unknowingly commit a crime are also given a chance to fight for themselves and prove themselves innocent in the eyes of law and the society. A crime is a crime, whether it is committed knowingly or unknowingly so why the latter people should be treated any different than their former counterparts.

More so, recidivists and criminals already behind bars are also given a chance to have a lawyer that can deal with the matters of law and can apply for bails and other pleas to the court of law. And even in jails, criminals are allowed to earn by working with different things like carpentry, painting, etc. So, everybody gets an equal chance to speak up and put forth a plea or a case of being innocent and it has been like that from ages.

Therefore in my opinion, it would be unfair to revoke a person's civil rights and the right to benefit from their own labor when knowingly committing a crime and breaking a social contract should be considered very deeply before acting on and every account and perspective of his offense should be taken into consideration.