The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Is there always a way that someone will be convinced by your viewpoint? Will he/she ever be able to completely accept it since there is always an idea in their head what should be? I don’t think so. Convincing someone that what you are saying is true is an onerous task and many people fail to prove their point. It requires compelling facts and figure to manipulate someone’s mind and make them think the way you do. This could be understood by the way that global scientists and film directors who changed the way one perceives something.

Taking an example of a scientist, who is critiqued by his own fraternity to the brink that drives him away from something he actually believed him just because his hypothesis was not potent to incorporate the factual orthodoxy. Like Edison, who despite countless failed attempts and constant harangue of people did not lose hope, stood strong and eventually through his persistence he was able to achieve what seemed insurmountable.

Film directors and moviemakers are always considered the pioneers of developing new ideas by portraying them through their movies. The Pakistani director, Sharmeen Obaid Chinoy was so adamant to tell the stories of women who became the victims of acid attacks in Pakistan, that despite the strong opposition powerful political leaders and incessant bickering and polemics, made the movie and showcased it to the world. It was the resilience of her idea and her conviction to actually create awareness of what happened and how repugnant it was, which led her to win accolades for her endeavor in the show business.

To conclude, I truly believe a person’s mind cannot be diverted from their opinion, unless the other viewpoint is extremely very cogent and compels the detractor, through facts that could be proven and leading them to change their perception.