The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author is arguing, based on the surveys, that the Grove College must maintain female only policy, which is against the voting results from professors. While tempting, the College should evaluate the author’s arguments so that the wanted results from the author will happen to be true. Basically there are many unspecified and unwarranted assumptions that the author is concluding only considering the options that the author is giving.

First, the author is concluding his or her remarks only based on limited surveys. The first survey, which was governed by students government, shows us that 80 percent of the students do not want coeducation. However, we do not any warrants whether that survey was properly done with the entire population of the college. While we are not assuming that the student government has done anything to the survey, we do not know the coverage of such survey. There are unspoken warrant from the author that the survey is properly responding the entire population. Moreover, the second survey, is only answered in the half of the population. We do not know whether the other half of the unanswered alumnae will give the same result to the answered half. We should not simply imagine that the two samples will yield the same results. The argument from the author is depending the assumption that those two surveys are probable and accurate; and if the two surveys are not accurate, then the point the author is making is quite irrelevant.

Foremost, we even have to evaluate the votes from the professors. While the result, as the author has argued may ended in positive results, favoring coeducation of the College, we do not know whether the voting was conducted properly. We only have the results from the author that majority of professors has said yes to coeducation, we do not know whether entire professors had voted, or how close was the yes and no answers. The term “majority” alone cannot justify that the entire professors had agreed on the fact that the College should go to coeducation. We need responding rates as the results from the second survey. If there were certain departments that had voted toward this policy, and others were excluded, then we cannot trust the result from the vote. There is unstated assumption from the author that the entire population of professors has voted, and thus the result is conclusive.

Last but not least, even the author’s surveys may hold true, there is no guarantee that maintaining the current policy will yield the author’s expected results. Even if the two surveys and one votes are accurate, we do not know whether the argument will give us the author’s final conclusion. While students are against coeducation and half of the alumnae are not welcoming coeducation, if encouraged students to the College due to coeducation, or some other factors from coeducation may bring positive results. We do not know at this point that the surveys and votes alone will bring the wanted results. We need to see other factors such as prospective men and women students who will enter the College. If no one wants to attend to the College, coeducation is not important factor for the end result that the author wants to happen. Members alone from the College will not guarantee the end result from the author. We need to see other factors beyond the members and alumnae of the College. It is also a unwarranted assumption from the author; members alone can make accurate prediction for the future.

In conclusion, while tempting, we do not know whether the author’s argument will bring the author’s conclusion, as there are unwarranted assumptions from the author.