The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of Bower Builder claims that they should increase the size of the family room and kitchens based on a nationwide survey in order to sell more homes but fails to acknowledge certain crucial factors.

First of all, it is proffered that their competitor, Domus Construction have built homes with large family rooms and well equipped kitchens that has sold much faster and in high rates and Bower Builder should follow their footsteps. But, the author fails to recognize that the homes built by Domus Construction may have other enticing features that led people to buy their homes. Also, the fact that Domus Construction may have a reputable name in the market and people trust them is discounted. These fallacies render this claim unsound.

Second of all, it is presumed that the sales and profits will boost up once Bower Builders incorporates large family rooms and state-of-the-art kitchens in their homes. However, there could be various other reasons for people to not buy the houses built by Bower Builders. There may be quality issues in their construction or they use substandard finishes that damage or wear out easily. Also, there is a chance that the buyers that Bower Builders are already catering to may not like this enhancement and all the sales will be lost. Besides, there can be no guarantee of that since no information is provided on the type of people or areas that both of these firms cater to.

Lastly, the writer posits, on the basis of the recent sales that in order to accommodate a larger family room and kitchen, they should reduce the size of the dining room or not have it altogether, since the recent buyers said that they do not need a separate dining room for family meals. However, the fact that a dining area might be needed for the guests or that completely cutting the dining room may not tempt the buyers at all to make the purchase is not taken into account.

Therefore, the writer fails to make a cogent case that the size of the living rooms and kitchens should be increased and homes to have a well-appointed kitchen.