“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of l

The business manager argues that the loss of advertising contracts and peoples' complains coverage is because of the less time they give to weather and local news and in order to restore that they should devote more time to those is spurious because the groundwork on which the argument is based is unsubstantiated.

Firstly, it is surmised that over the past year the late-night news program has devoted more time to national news and less time to weather and local news and that is sole the reason people have been complaining about. However, there may be various reasons to it. First, the channel has been covering the local news and weather sufficiently low overall and not just in the late night news program. Second, that whatever amount the channel broadcasted of the weather and local news was unpalatable and unauthentic and hence the complains. Also, do the viewers complain about coverage only in the late-night program or throughout the day is not specified. The failure of writer to acknowledge these facts calls into question the veracity of this claim.

Secondly, the television station has lost the advertising contracts from local business during the late-night news program. The writer posits that it is because they broadcast more national news in that program. It might be because the overall viewership may have declined over the past year. In addition, the local business may not be profiting at all from the advertisements and might not be able to pay the television station anymore. The writer does not provide us with any information if the local busisness is still proliferating or in loss or has shut down altogether. Since, these assertions lack information that could validate them, the claim renders itself specious.

Finally, even if the news channel devotes more time to the local news and weather, there is no guarantee that it would restore its revenues from the advertising companies. The author draws a correlation between the two but fails to authenticate these assumptions. Had there been provided any data that there is a possibility of reclaiming the revenues by transmitting more weather and local news, the claim would have been more sound.

Thus, the conclusion that in order to attract more viewers to the program and avoid losing any further advertising revenues, the channel should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level fails to make a cogent case and is unjustified.