The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes."A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes

The president of Bower Builders argues that it would be necessary to increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens and should introduce state-of-the-art kitchens in all their homes in order to boost sales and profits. Stated that way, the argument fails to consider several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this argument, the author states that a survey conducted nationwide has revealed that people look for a large family room and a large and well-appointed kitchen when buying a home. Furthermore, the author also states that their competitor, Domus Construction, have been able to sell homes much faster with higher prices because of such feature. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion.

First of all, the president of Bower Builders points out that their competitor have been able to sell homes at a price which is more than the price of an average home nationally. This is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate the correlation between the price of the house by Domus Construction and the average price a house of that locality. To illustrate further, the price of a home in a dense and populated metropolitan city like Mumbai will always be higher than a house located in the suburbs. The author should have provided an comparative study of the prices of the house of their competitor and the nearby houses in order to make the argument convincing for the reader.

Furthermore, the author readiy assumes that since multiple recent buyers opted for no seperate dining room, all of their buyers will be looking for that. This is merely an assumption made without any solid ground. For example, we do not know how many recent buyers Bower Builders had recently. The authors idea of many can be 10. It is also plausible that 10 buyers out of the recent 50 buyers opted for such. In order to make the argument more convincing, statistics should be provided.

Finally, the president concludes that following the results of the survey and building bigger family rooms and kitchens will improve sales and the overall profit made by Bower Builder. Even if we agree that survey reading was accurate and the people are really looking for such homes, still careful scrutiny of the conclusion raises some skeptical doubts. Has the president considered the price of rebuilding the houses when calculating about estimated profits? Rebuilding will take time and Bower Builders would not be able to sell those house during the constructin period. So, does the company have enough revenue to continue with such a decision? Without he answer to such questions, the reader will be left with an impression that the author's claims are more of a wishful thinking than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. In order to bolster it further, the president must provide more clear concrete evidence, preferably by the way of a detailed survey of the home owners. Finally, to better asses the argument, we need more information regarding the sales and profits of their competitior, Domus Construction.