The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The topic raises an interesting issue discussing the best method to prepare the younger generation of a society to grown up and occupy positions of leadership in government and various other fields. Indisputably, a sense of competition pushes a person to be the best version of themseves. However, the most important motive of a leader is to lead and look after other people while acieving the goals. Thus, I would generally disagree with the fact that competition is vital in the younger generation, and would argue that a sense of cooperation asures that the wellbeing of the people working below the future leaders will be appreciated and not ignored.

First of all, i would like to point out that the true essence of leadership is to look after people all around. To illustrate further, let us look at the example of Steve Jobs. His first stint as a CEO of Apple is a good example of what a leader should not be. Their were complaints from the Apple office and the Board members that before the release of Lisa 2, he did not respect his employees properly and even went to the extent of criticizing them in front of the public. He disrespected the opinions the employees had about his ideas and acted narcissistically. Thus, the release of Lisa 2 was a failure, and shortly after he was fired as the CEO of Apple.

Furthermore, it is also important that a leader listens to other ideas and opinions from people working below him. This enables a leader to make the best decisions and see all sides of a problem. Specifically, let us consider Kanye West as an example. He is known to gather artists and producers from all around and works together for months. There have been reports that he once asked a delivery guy his opinions on the album Kanye was producing and even credited him properly in the album. The famous entrepreneur, Gary Vee, once said that a leader should speak last. This emphasises the point that a leader should first listen to all the ideas and then form his ro her opinion.

Finally, it also needs to be admitted that competition pushes human limits. A person cannot unleash his or her true potential if they are not feeling the pressure of other people trying to succeed them. For example, let us look at the two UFC fights of Conor McGregor and Nate Diaz. In the first fight Conor lost, but he came back for a rematch and defeated Nate Diaz, a result the critics did not expect. However, too much competition spoils the mind. It then becomes all about the achievements and not the end result. The government cannot afford to be competetive and raise the economy while depriving the citizens of their basic rights as a result.