The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora."Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens

The author argues in the health magazine that the reason behind the decline in the fitness levels among the citizens of Corpora is the recent decline in the economy, and that it the fitness levels will improve among with the economy. Stated in that way, the argument fails to consider several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this argument, the author reasons that the fitness levels of the citizens of Corpora have fallen due to the excessive low budget regarding fitness related products and service. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence provides little credible support for the author's conclusion.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that the population of Corpora has been the same for the last twenty years. This is an assumption made without any solid grounds. To justify this claim, the author reasons that the medical experts have stated that now only one-quarter of the citizens of Corpora meet the current health standards, while twenty years ago it was one-half. But this is a flawed argument. There is no solid evidence provided regarding whether the health standards have improved throughout the twenty years. If it had, then the study cannot be compared without extensive study. Also, it is quite natural that the population of Corpora has increased in all this time. So, the author needs to provide numbers, instead of fractions or percentages. For example, one-quarter of one hundred is twenty five, while one-half of ten is just five.

Furthermore, the author states that the claim that spending too much time using computers is not the reason behind the decline of the fitness levels of the citizens of Corpora, while it is actually the decrease in the budget regarding fitness. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any correlation between the fitness budget and the fitness level. To illustrate further, there has been a study conducted by the Jawaharlal Nehru University that illustrates how increased use of computer have given rise to health issues in metropolitan cities, majorly to obesity.

Finally, the author uses the evidence that the regions of Corpora, where computer ownership is the highest, also recorded the highest overall fitness standards. Even if the author's claim regarding the fitness budget being the reason behind the decline tin the fitness is agreed with, careful scrutiny of the above argument raises skeptical doubts. We know that the computer ownership of those regions are high. But we do not know if the computer usage is high as well. It may just be the fact that the neighborhood is a wealthy one where every house has at least two computers in average. The author needs to provide answer to these doubts. Without that, the reader will be left with an impression that this is wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author needs to provide more clear concrete evidence, probably by the way of a detailed analysis of the comparison of the fitness levels of the two years.