"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure p

The author, the vice predisent of marketing at Dura Sock, argues in the memo that the company can increase their profits by discontinuing their Endure manufacturing process, which makes sure that socks are durable enough to last for at least two years. Stated in that way, the argument fails to consider several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this argument, the author reasons that the recent customer survey revealed that they think Dura Sock is wasting money spending on this more expensive manufacturing process. However, the author needs to provide further substantive evidence in order to evaluate the argument.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that the reason behind new purchase of socks by Dura Sock's average customer every three months is the lack of durability. This is merely an assumption made without a solid ground. For example, the author needs to provide the reaon behind this new purchase. Is it because new colors or styles come out every two to three months? Or do the customers lose their socks and that is the reason behind their purchase?

Furhtermore, the author states that Dura Socks's new customer survey has revealed that the customers from their largest market values their brand because of the style factor and the range of colors available for their socks. Thus concluding that the customers do not value their superior manufacturing process is vague and unsupported. For instance, if the owner of a condo is asked about the best property of that condo, the owner will probably state either a furniture or some visual element of the condo, because humans are a visual creature. Simillarly, the author needs to provide information regarding whether the customers have taken the durability of the socks as an obvious property or not.

Finally, the author concludes that discontinuing the Endure manufacturing process is the best option as it will increase profit of the company. Even if the author's claim that the customers do not want hte durability of their socks is agreed with, careful scrutiny of the author's conclusion raises some skeptical doubts. The author does not provide information if there needs to be a massive overhaul in the mechanism of manufacturing to go back to the regular method of manufacturing. For example, what will be the cost of establishing this new manufacturing method? Will it need new machinery, or are the old machinery suitable enough? Does the workers need new training? Without the answer to these question, the reader wis left with an assumption that the claim made by the author is more of a wishful thinking than substantative evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author needs to provide evidence, probably by the way of a detailed survey of the customers, this time asking the proper questions.