Super Screen MoviesThe following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company."According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The author, the advertising directior of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, argues that the company should allocate a greater percentage of their budget towards advertising as people are not aware of the quality of movies they produce. Stated that way, the argument fails to consider several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this argument, the author reasons that according to a recent report, fewer people have attended screening of movies produced by Super Screen although their reviews have increased in the last year. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credibility for the author's conclusion.

First of all the author states that, according to a report, fewer people have attended the screening of ther movies last year. Thus, coming to the conclusion that people are not aware of the movies produced my them. This is merely an assumption made without any solid ground. For example, did the reports consider the viewings from online streaming websites. In the current age of technology, because of companies like Netflix and Hulu, people can access the movies from their homes instead fo going out to a screening. Even Disney have identified this trend and recently started their own streaming service. The author should provide more information regarding such doubts to make the argument more valid.

Furthermore, the author points out that the percentage of positive reviews of Super Screen produced movies have increased in the last year. But this does not justify why people should watch Super Screen produced movies. This is a weak and unsupported claim that does not demonstrate any correlation between the ratings of Super Screen produced movies and that of other movies from other production companies. To illustrate further, in the year of 2016, Leonardo DiCaprio's performance in The Wolf of Wall Street was considered to be his greatest performance till then. Nevertheless, he lost the battle fot the Oscar for Best Acting for Men to Mathew's performance in Dallas Buyer's Club. So, the point his even though DiCaprio's performance was his all time greatest at that point, there was other performance(s) better than him. So, the author needs to provide details about the comparison of the movie ratings that were screening at the same time.

Finally, the author concludes that the company should allocated a greater share of their budget towards advertising to have a greater reach towards the public. Even if we agree with the auhtor's opinions that the movies produced by Super Screen was on par on quality with other movies but still people did not watch them, even online, still carefull scrutiny of the conclusion raises some skeptical doubts. Can the company afford to raise their overall budget, or do they have to decrease the share of the budget for other categories? If the budget allocated to producing the movies is reduced in favor of advertising, can they expect to still achieve good reviews? Without the answer to these questions the reader will be leaft with the impression that the author's claims were more of a wishfull thinking than a substantitive evidence.

In conclusion, the auhtor's argument is unpresuasive as it stands.