The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee."We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rathe

The president and the administrative staff of Grove College argues that maintaining the century old tradition of all-female education is the way to go rather than admitting men. Stated that way, the argument fails to consider key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this argument, the author states that after conducting a survey among the students and the alumnae, they the president and the administrative staff have come to this conclusion. However, careful scrutiny of the the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the argument.

Firstly, the author states it has been found from the survey results that 80 percent of the students of Grove College wanted the tradition of all-female education to continue. Thus, based on this survey, the author concludes that the students do not want their college to admit men into their programs. However, this is merely an assumption made without any solid ground. It may be the case that in the survey they were explicitly asked if wanted their college to maintain all the old-traditions or do they want something new? The answer to this question will be vastly different than an unambiguous question that will ask if they want the college to admit men into its programs. The author must provide more information about the nature of the survey and the questions asked in order to make this argument more convincing.

Furthermore, the author points out that more than hald of the alumnae of Grove College also suggested that the college continue to maintain the tradition. Solely based on this study, coming to the conclusion that admiting men to the college will make it lose the support of the alumnae is an overgeneralization. To illustrate further, the alumnae may have stated in the survey that they do not want anything to change with their college. Their answer to the survey may have been influence by their feelings of nostalgia more than their thought of goodwill for Grove College. Thus, this argument is weak and unsupported and does not demostrate any solid correlation between the alumnae's goodwill of their college and the decisions made my the college.

Finally, the author concludes that maintaing an all female college will improve morale among the students and the confidence among the alumnae. Even after agreeing with the argument that the students and the alumnae actually want Grove College to not admit men into its programs, still careful scrutiny of the conclusion raises some skeptical doubts. We do not know if taking such a decision will improve morale or not. On what study is this conclusion based on. It may be the case that the morale among the students have been low for quite some years despite of Grove College being an all-female college. Without the answers to these questions, the reader will be left with an impression that the author's claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author should provide more clear concrete evidence, probably by the way of a detailed survey among the students and the alumnae of Groove College.