Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning f

This topic raise the controverstial issue of whether national governments should stop funding art projects when the employment level of the country is low and the citizens are starving. Indisputably, we have experienced from history that art thrives under such conditions of hardships. Nevertheless, the main priority of the government should be to look after the wellbeing of its citizens. Thus, I would generally disagree with the opinion that government funding of art even during the low points of the nation is necessary, and would argue that those funds are better put to use when creating jobs and feeding the citizens.

First of all, I would like to point out that the presemt wellbeing of the citizens of a nation is of much more importance than supporting art projects. To illustrate, let us look at the example of the British colonial rule in India. The British government stole food from the native citizens of the country and sold it back to India at an inflated price, thus, looting the resources of the country. Using such resources, they lived a lavish lifestyle and build some magnificent pieces of art in India, Victoria Memorial for example. But as a result, the citizens were dying because of starvation and set back the progress of the nation in the long run.

Furthermore, more people will be willing to pursue their passion and become an artist if there is good enough employment in the country. Specifically, if we look at United States of America as an example, we can see that how flourishing market and proper funding of science projects saw the rise of numerous Nobel laureates from that country. People want a confirmation that even if their pursue of their passion in art fails for some reason, they can still get a regular job and live a life like an average joe. Such is possible when the employment of the country is good. Thus, it is necessary that countries focus more on providing job opportunites to their citizens.

Finally, it has to be admitted that art is also a form of portrayal of human struggle during the time of its production. This is especially true if we look at the example of French New Wave, which was the trend in French Cinema of 1950s. The purpose of French New Wave was to provide a voice to the depraved public suffering from post World War II. During that time, the already existing directors were making movies about lavish lifestyles in a war torn France. But, then came few young men like Goddard and Fellini and started this trend of providing a platform for the poor to speak through cinema.

In conclusion, although it is necessary for government to support art projects to at all times in order to evolve the culture, however, the priority of well being of the citizens should be much more.