The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great

The author claims in his letter that us, humans, should provide more importance to unmanned space exploration and invest in it. Stated this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this conclusion, the author reasons that space exploration through unmanned space probes and satellites have been successful recently without risking human lives to be sent to space. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little support to the authors' recommendation.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that few recent success regarding unmanned space probes means that the success rate of those unmanned space projects is high. This is merely a n assumption made without any solid ground. For example, we do not how many times the space organization failed in lauching unmanned satellites into space before having a success. The language used by the author when describing the success of unmanned space exploration is vague. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if the author provided the success rate, that is how many times they tried and how many times they were actually successful.

Furthermore, the author does not provide any valid information about the success rate of manned space flight. Doing such make the argument presented by the author weak and unsupported by valid claims. It could be possible that the chances of failure of sending humans to space is significantly lower than unmanned space flight. To illustrate further, the author should provide more evidence regarding why he thinks manned space flight should be replaced. If the argument had provided the number of lives lost or the difference of the success rate of the two methods, then the claim would've been more persuasive.

Finally, although it is safe to claim that sending humans puts human lives on risk, however, the author did not provide evidence regarding it. As much as we know, it may be safer than unmanned space flights. It may be possible that several humans are injured and even lost in the factory during production or testing of the unmanned probes.

In conclusion, the author's claim is unpersuasive as it stands. In order to bolster it further, the author must provide more clear and concrete evidence perhaps in the way of a detailed analysis of the advantages nad the disadvantages of the two space exploration methods.