The following appeared in a business magazine."As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded

The author argues that the reason behind the dizziness and nausea reported by the consumers of Promofoods tuna was not the canned tuna after all. Stated that way, the argument fails to answer several necessary questions that needs to be addressed in order to evaluate the argument effectively. To justify this argument, the author states that on testing of the recalled cans, negligible amounts of chemicals capable of causing the reported symptoms was found to be present, an amount which is naturally present in all canned food products. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the argument.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that the number of cans tested by the chemist was enough to reach the conclusion stated. This is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demostrate how the findings achieved from the sample size correlates to the eight million tuna cans that were recalled. To illustrate further, just because a small sample size of cans were found to be safe, does not mean that all the eight millions cans are safe. How many cans were tested? Was the cans comprising of the sample taken from various batches in order to generalize the results more effficiently? To make the argument more convincing, the author needs to answer to these questions and provide more infromation.

Furthermore, the author states that the chemists testes the cans from the sample and found only three food chemicals out of five that could cause dizziness and nausea, an amount which is naturally found in canned foods. Thus, the author concludes that the dizziness and nausea reported by the consumers of Promofoods tuna was not because of their product. However, the author makes an assumption that there were no other chemicals, outside of those eight food chemicals, that may have caused the symptoms. This is merely an assumtion without any solid gorund. The author should answer questions regarding the content of the cans, and if there were any foreign chemicals present or not, in order to makethe argument more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author notes that the chemists found small amounts of three chemicals that is capable of causing dizziness and nausea. It was stated further that those three chemicals are naturally found in all canned foods.

However, the author does not provide a detailed amount. How much is "small"? Smal relating to what? Small is a vague term in the field of science. The author needs to provide solid numbers in order to bolster the argument.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpursuassive as it stands. In order ot bolster it furhter, the author needs to answer to specific questions in light of the argument and provide necessary information, probably by the way of a detailed report of the testing of the canned food.