The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues that eating a substantial amount of fish will help West Merians in reducing absenteeism and preventing cold. However, he is unable to justify his assumptions logically.

Initially, the argument claims, based on a study report, that since the fish consumption is high in East Meria, it is the only reason that their people visit the doctor once or twice a year for the treatment of colds. However, the claim is unable to present any justification that just because of eating fish the people of East Meria don’t catch colds and are healthier. It could be because they incorporate other wholesome foods in their diet and maintain strong health regimes and workouts.

In addition, it surmises that since eating fish has worked for East Merians, it will also work for the people of West Meria. Here the author fails to take into account that there could be various possibilities that consumption of fish works for the former and might not work for the latter considering the difference in weather, kind of fish, and environment. The health conditions and age of people between the two towns have been neglected which play a crucial role.

More so, the memo recommends the daily use nutritional supplements derived from fish oil. Is eating fish similar to using fish supplements? Will consuming supplements derive from fish oil yield the same health benefits as eating food that has fish in it? Had the author mentioned the facts of similar health benefits or provided data to prove that, the claim would have been sound.

Thus, on the basis of above mentioned fallacies, the argument that consuming fish on a frequent basis will help prevent cold and eradicate absenteeism in West Meria, does not possess information to validate its claims and renders itself spurious.