The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. If we shorten each of our work shifts by one hour, we can improve Butler Manufacturing's safety record by ensuring that our employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of Butler Manufacturing advises shortening the working hours in all shifts by one hour until the labors are well-rested and the number of increased on-job-incident in the past year of the factory gets decline. This advice cannot be accepted as it stands since relies on the series of surmises all of which are missing the substantial reasons to get the verification. The following paragraphs will adduce these missing pieces of evidence and the possible problems with these inadequate clues.

First of all, the vice-president makes a comparison of his company with a nearby Panoply Industries which has 30 percent fewer injury report; on the other hand, there is no clue about these two companies. Indeed, a valid and logic comparison is the one which is done between two substances possessing identical features; otherwise, the action will be the comparison of apples and oranges and a dead-ended contribution. The lacking evidence about the similarity between two companies in the scope of the tediousness of job, the safety factor of factories, or knowledge and expertise of working forces for dealing with calamities, make this comparison to be skeptical. For instance, there is a possibility that Panoply Industries is well-equipped in the safety aspect, and can have the abrupt and in-field intervention in the cases that workers face the hazardous on the job; therefore, the amount of the fewer injuries reported by Panoply Industries is for the sake of this high-level safety factor rather than an-hour shorter occupation shift.

The other issue with the note is the recent government study which is considered as the reference for highlighting the fatigue and lack of sleep as the main reason for on-job- accidents. In fact, this study is ambiguous and cannot be accepted as a reliable source for this conclusion; since there are no pieces of evidence about the scope of the study, considered the category of job, or even the studied group’s individual feature. Furthermore, the generalization of finding in a specific study to the entire target population is plausible in the case that considered case study is indicative of the target population. For instance, at this recent study, maybe the government merely considered the on-job-hazardous take place in driving occupation for drivers, in this scenario, the overgeneralization of this finding to the working condition at the industries is not logical and reliable.

Finally, even with the acceptance the sleep deprivation as the main cause of on-job-accidents of Butler Manufacturing, there is no clue to give the guarantee that the hour shorted from the working shift of the workers in this company will be allocated for the sleeping hours by the workers. There is the probability that this one hour spends for family activities or individual chores. Therefore, this hypothesis, which this time will be the resting hour for workers, because of its missing cogent evidence is doubtful.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned factors explicitly depict the shakiness and dubious level of this note and its requirements for further explanation about the similarities of two companies for comparison, the reliability of the government study, and the possibility of allocation of that shorten hour for sleeping by the workers. Otherwise, this note and its advice cannot be verified.