Claim Though often considered an objective pursuit learning about the historical past requires creativity Reason Because we can never know the past directly we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts documents and artifacts W

History is a web of unsolved mysteries that our historians are trying to fill. It is a taxing job that requires imagination as well as knowledge of how things work in that particular era. For example, lets consider that historians found a letter that was written by Gandi with some gaps. It is easier to strike off words like "gonna", "like", "imma" and other slang words as they are not appropriate for the particular generation he came from. But at the same time the historians should posses some level of imagination or creativity to piece this puzzle presented by the letter.

Historians spend most of their life studying the ways things worked in the past to draw out the most plausible and accurate assumptions and conclusions to fill the blanks. It is much like treasure hunting but instead of wealth they are in search of truth. This information can come from diaries or letters left behind by the ancestors or from artifices left behind by artists or the folklores that are passed down from generation to generation with least convolution among the tribes. Despite the sources, it is wise to keep note of all the information available at present to investigate new discoveries in the future.

Many assume that historians are adept with creativity in order to solve mysteries that are presented by the past. But unlike this popular assumption, historians use deductions to fill these voids. It is much like how Sherlock Holmes work. Gather and observe every ounce of information available and make the most logical outcomes of situations. Though imagination is needed to arrive at these results, very few historians require creativity in their occupation. Consider the above later. If the letter has a date on it, the period or the circumstances can be deduced easily. Assuming the letter was written in the period of world war two, knowing that he was an active member of this war it is not hard to decipher the contents of this letter. In this case no creativity is required to decipher the letter but education about past is needed.

But this does not explain the reason for existence of uncountable books about one past incident. If past is taken as a question with single answer then it becomes shackled. A single incident can be viewed from different perspectives under different circumstances and from the sides of different people with different backgrounds. Describing a single incident from the eyes of one individual is not an accurate measurement of analysis. And yet accumulation of the views present is not possible as most times resources or evidences of these different perspectives is not available currently. Consider the act of approving gay marriage rights. Many posses different views on it. So when describing it as a past incident requires summarizing both the sides, that is the supporters and the protesters. Assume that the historians have no record on the protesters and their views or workings. This is where historians master their creativity to deduce rather than current knowledge. This creativity is born out of the knowledge the historian posses about the past and the knowledge of that era. It is a by product of comparing both the present and the past atmospheres and drawing out the most stable and plausible description. It is a tool historians use without even acknowledging.