Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

Do we really need to be creative to learn about our historic past? The author claims so, by giving the reason that since we can never fully know the direct past completely, we can re-interpret it by creatively interpreting the historic accounts, artifacts etc. I concede that without creative imagination it will be difficult to understand our historic accounts. Otherwise, in the Utopian world, I would not agree to make creative assumptions in understanding our history simply because it might distort our past.

To start with, I would like bring in limelight the fact that historical evidences are mostly, never excavated in a chronological order. As a result of which, one requires acumen and creativity to joints the dots and form a comprehensive story which could depict the history in its most commensurate form. For a supporting example one needs to think of no further than their school’s history textbooks, which had myriad of information from far past like World War-I and World War-II. If studied closely one can find meticulous details of how it started, weapons used, mode of communication, scale of destruction, it’s impact so on and so forth. This would not have been possible if the historians would not have used their creative intellect to form a meaning stories from the evidences found on the ground.

An even more striking example of why creativity is required in learning about our historic past can be understood by the historic stories which are well-renowned about the inventions and discovery of various tools and concepts. How do we know that Newton discovered the concept of Gravity, when he wondered why the apple from the tree fall downwards only? This is because, interpretation of past is not easy and historian and scientists worked together to understand the chronology of events, that might have taken place which led to the final outcome which we know of now.

At a personal level, I also believe that interpreting past from unrelated evidence can be a little trickery and might involve some amount of error. This is because while analyzing and interpreting are prejudices can also play some role in manifesting the history. If a historian feels that, the people of some civilization had aggressive disposition. He might believe that the end of the civilization was due to some internal dissent which might not be the case.

In sum, unless the biases are not playing any role in understanding our past, I think creatively interpreting the history accounts, artifacts and documents can be a fruitful method in the analysis of the past or historic events.