Some people think that parents should plan their children’s leisure time carefully. Other people believe? those children should decide for themselves how to spend their free time, Which idea do you agree with?Give reasons for your choice.

There is no shortage of debate about whether should parents plan their kid’s leisure time or should kids themselves take the ownership of this decision. In my opinion, children should have the right to decide, how to spend their free time. I feel this way for mainly two reasons, which I will explore further in the following essay.

First of all, I am an avid follower of the assertion that exploration and creativity cannot be imposed upon, one has to find it in themselves. In accordance with the same, when kids get the oppotunity to schedule their leisure time, which is supposidity the best time to unleash the potensial, they benifit themselves by realizing their expertize. My own experince is a compelling example for this. In my school, I had various activities to choose from for my extra-curriculum like chess, table-tennis, swimming, painting etc. It was a difficult decision to choose one activity from the lot. So, I asked my parents to decide it for me. But they denied on the grounds that every child has different inclinations and they should work hard to find the activity that interests them. So, I was left with the method of hit-and-trial. I took different activities every week and finally I found the activity which interested me the most: Skating. It was and still a stress-reliving activity which I often do in my free time. For this reason, I strongly believe children should decide their own leisure time.

Secondly, I strongly assert that being independent is a quality which cannot be taught in classes, but have to be inculcated in oneselves through efforts. These efforts start from small activities like planning one’s own leisure time without the help of others. For instance, a child who has taken the decisions of choosing the activites like football and music classes for his summer vaction. This kid will not only enjoy taking these activites but will also have the sense of pride when he gains some knowledge or acquire some skill through these activites.

However, guidence of parents can be very advantagaeous at the time when the child gets stuck in situations or need guidence for further action. In addition to this, parents can help their kids to stay in the right path and not fall into the trap of situations like peer-pressure.

In sum, despite few advantages of parent’s guidence, I would agree to the statement that kids should plan their leisure time by themselves. The assertion is for two simple reasons that, firstly, the child will have the opportunity to explore and learn. Secondly, he will start becoming independent in decision-making and will take the ownership of his decision.