Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is a well-renowned claim that no act is done purely for the benefit of others. All actions- even the one which seems to be done for the betterment of others has some underlying personal beneficial motive of self-interest, and I would quite agree with the claim. The assertiveness of the claim is based on various reasons, some of which will I will detail-out further.

To begin with, one of the most prominent example which I can think off is the activities taken by CSR-Corporate Social Responsibility taken up by various industries of the corporate sector. By definition, CSR activities should be taken by industries to help society flourish which has to help them in direct or indirect ways. Though there have been many rules and regulations to make sure that the CSR activities should benefit other people and not the company itself. Yet, the corporate involvement in the business has found out many ways to make the CSR activities beneficial to them in intangible ways. For example, CSR helps corporate in marketing their product or service, helps in building goodwill of a company, etc.. This is one of the reason, more and more companies are willingly ready to work in CSR as they have intangible benefits to explore.

Moreover, it’s not only the corporate sector reaping out the fruit of benefits in the name of social services. Even politics and politician works in a similar fashion. With a myriad of development schemes coming up for a meager and downtrodden section of the society, not all come with all in good faith. There have been many instances- where a development scheme gets started to help politicians in creating a viable vote bank for them in the upcoming elections. Similarly, there has been an instance where help is given to the needy by the politician to form a good image of themselves in front of the citizen of the country.

Nonetheless, not all people help others to seek benefits in return of that favor. We all are aware of humans like Mother Teresa etc. who devoted their entire lives to helping others who need help.

In the end, I would like to conclude with the notion that, there are a variety of people in the world. We can find people who selflessly devote their lives to help others. These are a gem of a person and are quite difficult to find. In today’s world- the act of compassion is usually accomplished with some of the other self-interest.