Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is a well renowned claim that, no act is done purely for the benefit of others. All actions- even the one which seems to be done for betterment of other has some underlying personal benifical motive of self-intertest, and I would quiet agree with the claim. The assertiveness of the claim is based on various reasons, some of which will I will detail-out further.

To begain with, one of the most promient example which I can think off is the activities taken by CSR-Corporate Social Responsibity taken up by various industries of corporate sector. By defenation, CSR activities should be taken by industries to help socitiey flourish which has help them in direct or indirect ways. Though there have been many rules and regulations to make sure that the CSR activities should benifit other people and not the company itself. Yet, the corporate involved in the busniess have found out many ways to make the CSR activities benifical to them in intangiable ways. For example, CSR helps corporate in marketing their product or service, helps in building goodwill of a company etc.. This is one of the reason, more and more companies are willingly ready to work in CSR as they have intangible benifits to explore.

Moreover, it’s not only the corporate sector reaping out fruit of benefits in name of social services. Even the politics and politican works in similar fashion. With myriad of developement schemes coming up for meager and downtrodden section of the society, not all come with all in good faith. There have been many instances- where a development scheme gets started to help politicans in creating a viable vote bank for them in the upcoming elections. Similarly, there have been instance where help is given to the needy by politican to form a good image of themselves in front of the citizen of the country.

Nonetheless, not all people help other to seek benefits in return of that favour. We all are aware of humans like Mother Teresa etc. who devoted their entire life to help others who need help.

In the end, I would like to conclude with the notion that, there are variety of people in the world. We can find people who selflessly devote their life to help others. These are gem of a person and are quiet difficult to find. In today’s world- the act of compassion is usually accomplished with some or the other self-interest.