Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

With the advancement in technology, some of the devices have become an inevitable part of our lives and smartphones, are one of them. But I agree with parents who forbid their kids from owning a smartphone. I have two compelling reasons to support this claim, which I will elaborate upon in my further essay.

To start with, I want to focus on the well-known and widely experienced result from the usage of smartphones - wastage of time and lack of physical activity. There have been various studies an experiments with have showcased the above-mentioned effect from the usage of smartphones. I have a very convincing example which is from my own life's experience. A few years back, when the hype of smartphone started, my parents gifted me a smartphone- which ultimately turned into a curse for me rather than a boon. I started using the smartphones and it's various attractive features, almost all the time. Due to this, my studies suffered and my grades deteriorated. Since my physical activities also started diminishing, I lost the badminton matches, which used to be one of my fortes. Soon, my parents realized that smartphones are not good for me and they asked me to limit my time for using a smartphone.

Secondly, another reason which is more scientific and proved by various researchers all over the world- the radiations from smartphones weakness the cells of the brain, and especially, children. As an adolescent, a child's brain has more capability to learn quickly than adults. This learning ability is hindered when a child is exposed more to the radiations from the smartphones which weakness the brain cells. For instance, there have been studies which showcase the difference between two child- initially who had the same IQ levels. But one was allowed to use smartphones and other was not allowed. After studying them for months, there were evident results which showed that the kid who was not allowed to use the smartphone was able to learn and understand things better than his peer, who had access to the smartphone.

In the end, I would like to conclude with the notion that, there might be instances when smartphones have proved their worth like for example with the use of GPS in smartphones, you can easily locate your kid even if he gets lost in the crowd. But one should always weigh the various pros and cons of smartphones before coming to the conclusion. Thus, I strongly feel that parents should forbid their kids from using smartphones until a certain age at least.