Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

University is one of the most important parts of a student’s life. The only thing students need to do in university is learning as much as they can. Of course, it is a good thing if students can take a lot of courses out of their majors. But should universities require all the students to do this compulsory? There are both positive and negative aspects of this claim. In my opinion, I disagree with the claim that every student should take a variety of courses outside the majors for two reasons.

To begin with, it is true that there are many advantages if students can learn knowledge out of the major field. Because the majors interact with others a lot nowadays, if we want to do something better, we do need to know different kinds of knowledge. For instance, Apple’s CEO Steve Jobs did not just know things about computers, he also has a deep comprehension of arts, so he can design the classic iPhone and let many people like it. This example illustrates that knowledge of different major fields can benefit us to a large extent.

However, we should not require every student to do what the claim says because there are also a lot of students who just like their own majors. And it is also possible to succeed if they just study in their own major fields. For instance, the students who are learning computer science. They can just increase their ability in coding because when they graduate, they do not have to think anything about design or the hardware or something else, the only thing they need to do is to finish the program. And they can also get a lot of money just by coding. So this example tells us that it is ok if we do not know anything about other academic disciplines.

Moreover, we can not know whether acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated or not. Because we can not define people have become truly educated. The only person who can define this is ourselves. If we thought it will be enough to just learn knowledge of our own majors, then we can also say this is the best way to become truly educated for us.