Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

School is one of the most important parts of a student’s life as a place for education. Of course, the effect of education is to make sure that students acquire knowledge as much as they can. But education should also give the ability to students to let them think independently. The prompt recommends that students should always question what they were taught instead of accepting it with no doubt. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that schools should encourage students to challenge what they were taught by their teachers for three reasons.

To begin with, encouraging students to question what they were taught in school does not mean tribute them to doubt anything they were taught. Because a big part of the knowledge they were taught was testable. The purpose of encouraging students to challenge their knowledge is to let them have the ability to think by themselves. For instance, all of us know that if we drop two things from the same height with different weights, the two things would contact the ground at the same time. And we also know about the famous experiment made by Galileo at the Leaning Tower of Pisa. But should students accept this conclusion with no doubt? Of course, the answer is no. Because they do not see the experiment by themselves. They should have a mind of their own. Although this conclusion is proved to be right by Galileo, it has not been proved by students. The above example illustrates that students should have the ability to think by themselves and question what they were taught unless they proved what they were taught is true by themselves.

Moreover, knowledge is always updating, a lot of knowledge that we believe is true would be proved to be wrong after a long time. It is because some people question what seems to be a truth that makes this knowledge more and more accurate. For instance, before the 18th century, physics based on Newton’s theories was believed to be true in any case. But now we know that the classic physic only works under macro conditions. When we want to do some research under micro conditions, we need to use modern physics based on Einstein’s theories. The above example illustrates that something we think is true may be proved to be wrong later. So instead of accepting them passively, we need a mind of our own.

Famous philosopher Aristotle said, “I love my teacher, but I love truth more.” It is very important having the ability to think by yourself. For students, questioning what they are taught instead of accepting it passively is not only helpful to their own study but also make a good effect on all aspects of their life.