Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research is an essential segment of scientific and social development today. The money governments commit to scientific research is constantly increasing every year. The prompt recommends that governments should not take any money to scientific research which will not have a clear result. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that governments should fund scientific research that is useful for the world no matter if the consequences are unclear or not for three reasons.

To begin with, nobody would know whether the consequence of ongoing scientific research is good or not until it is finished. Thus, do not fund research whose consequence is unclear is highly possible to interrupt useful research. For instance, at the time of the second war, many countries tried to make nuclear weapons. But a lot of countries did not commit or just take a little money to nuclear weapon research because they were confused that if nuclear weapons could really be produced. As a result, the countries that funded the research whose consequence is unclear benefited the most in the second war. The above example illustrates that scientific research whose consequence is temporarily unclear may bring great benefits.

Moreover, scientific research is highly influenced by the technological constraints of the times which mean there would not be any outcomes if related theories are not enough. But this is not mean that the ongoing research is useless. We should keep the research going and when the related work has been done, we can get the outcomes quickly. For instance, in the field of AI (artificial intelligence), we can not make robots that are smart enough or can do some movement as quickly as human beings because the knowledge of mathematics and hardware equipment both have not met the relevant requirements. But should we shut down AI research? The answer is no. There is a lot of work we can do even if we can not get the desired result because of technological constraints. The AI example illustrates that scientific research may seem like having unclear consequences because the relevant theories or equipment are insufficient.

However, the government may think that it would be a waste of money to commit to this research whose consequences are unclear. But the long-term effects are more important than the short-term ones. And we do need to help these scientific researches which seems like have no clear outcomes in a short time.