Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

“The test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold the opposite ideas at the same time while retain the ability to function,” said F. Scott Fitzgerald, the great author of The Great Gatsby. This author unequivocally support this line of thinking, believing that the ability of dealing with contradictory thoughts help one escape the trap of confirmation bias and achieve better-structured ideas as well as innovation. Being able to learn from people with conflicting ideas is one of the best approaches to do so.

Multiple psychological experiments show that people are prone to stick to their existing positions, selecting and interpreting information in a way that can confirm their prior personal beliefs. Given such a tendency, focusing on communicating with people with similar ideas may indeed do more harm than good to us, for we then incline to immerse deeper into our already biased positions, fallaciously imagine that the perspective we hold toward the world is the only right way to view it. On the contrary, if we dare to let ourselves be exposed to others with different, even contradictory views, at the risk of being repudiated, we may be provided with precious changes to let our flowed logic of thinking be challenged, which is by no means able to be provided by a homogeneous social group.

Moreover, connecting to people of different thoughts and various backgrounds not only enable us to better our thinking process, but also make us more creative. A book called Medici Effect explains this phenomena in detail, explaining how the Medici Family in Florence, though not intend the Renaissance, by supported people coming from multiple areas, with different talents, indeed contribute to this grand turning point of history. Having connection with people that see the world from a very different angle from us can actually inspire us to think in a more innovative way, and sometimes, the most groundbreaking ideas could be given birth from one of these dynamic interacting situations.

On the flip side, some may argue that confronting conflicting thoughts could cause stress and thus hinder learning. The author would nevertheless rebut that without the stress of letting one’s thoughts to be challenge so as to be refined, there is no way to come up with a more sophisticated, better grounded idea. It is not good to be so sure about one’s own idea until it has be challenged by conflicting ideas and proved to be sustainable.