Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement alleged that no action has been done to benefit others and the reason claimed all of them is for self-benefit. Although I agree with the spirit of the message, I could not accept it as it is due to overgeneralizing the situations. Moreover, both claim and reason have some flaws which I explain now.

The claim maintains that there is not any action to benefit others purely and all that we have done is for ourselves. It could not be tur all of the time and in all of the situations. We have heard about soldiers who sacrificed their lives for the country. For example, in the war between Iran and Iraq, some soldiers went to an oversee mission which they knew they would not come back but they decided to do due to be sure others safety.

The reason also has a problem that mentions all of the actions are done for self-interest. Apart from overgeneralizing the situation, the term self-interest might provide some fallacious. Some people sacrifice all of their lives for others. Take mothers as an example, they spend their time which could use for pleasure and rest for caring for their children and they may limit their leisure to assure their children success and health. Therefore, they do not these actions for self-interest, they just concern about their children and their interest.

Finally, though the claim and the reason overgeneralized the situation and did not consider exceptions, I believe the statement would be reasonable and reliable if the author changes some phrases. I reckon most of the time individuals have done actions for self-advantage and it could not be true for all of the time. For example, when we make a friend we might think about the benefit that we can get from that person or even maybe we just like him or her for pleasure. In both situations, we have done these actions due to self-interest.

In conclusion, I believe the claim and reason are reasonable but they did not consider all of the situations and overgeneralization may destroy them. It could be better to change the general words to some specific situations.