Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Opposing ideas and contradiction is the key for the individual to excel in any field: as the opposing ideas helps the other party to rectify their errors. The prompt suggests that learning is better with the people with whom our views reconcile. I mostly agree with the given statement for the following reasons.

People with contradictory views have different way of learning, understanding and interpreting things. For an instance, when the apple fell in the head of Sir Issac Newton he did not see it as the object falling on the ground: rather, he saw it as the invisible force that is pulling apple to the ground and the same force that is preventing the earth from collpsing in the sun. On the other hand, had there been no different way of looking at things we would not be able to explore the mystries of universe and still live a prosaic life. For innovation to occur and people to find some ground breaking we have to surpass the oxthodox views. And, become a iconoclast sometimes.

The contradictory ideas are developed when people are find it necessary if the existing visions do not exceed the expectations. The contradictory ideas are developed by correcting the fallicies that had previously existed, making the new ideas infalliable. For an instance, previously people thought earth was flat and had belived it to be so; however the theories form ancient Greek and many more later in line provided the evidence that earth was actually round. So, the wrong in the belief that we had acknowledge at first was corrected then and at present the new scientific equipments have helped providing concerte evidence.

Some might argue that, we can learn from the people with whome our views reconcile. As they have been through the tides that we have been through. The have better understanding of our situation and know when we need the push to excel. For an instance, if a student is suffering from the dyslexia then it would be better to hire a teacher, who understands the problem better and can help the student to excel. However, the only orthodox concept of teaching such students may not work as individual student may need different way of guidance.

In conclusion, some might argue that sharing similar ideas will help people to learn better, but they should also acknoledge the findings of people with the contradictory views. As they have the innovative and better way of learning, understanding and interpreting the stuffs than that of the orthodox ones.