College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field

Recent times, education has been shrinked to a medium to gain job rather than the mode of enriching the learnings and life values. Securing jobs is a tedious and important task and it is for that purpose students are focussing on their exam trying to score the highest but landing on a job has to be considered as one of the attributes of education and not the sole destination of the same. So encouraging students to decide their studies only based on the job opportunity of the concern field will be a grave error.

To understand the absurdity in the given argument, one must thoroughly comprehend the nature of human mind and how it evolves right from the birth. The atmosphere, circumstances and experience that the human mind exposed differs from one child to another and there is no means to put forth a standard framework for those. The cumulative experiences towards which each child is inclined to mould its needs, likes, dislikes, ability, skill, behaviour and even intelligence. In the same way, the career path and the interest in learning the particular fields is also influenced by the above mentioned parameters. External factors such as economic condition of the nation, willingness of parents and most important of all, the job opportunities can never find its place in deciding what a child wants to do.

What happens if a student prioritize the extrinsic conditions than his/her true self? There is a high possibility of stumbling in the middle and falling apart. Most of the students might get dwindled with this outcome because irrespective of all the inbuilt charisma, acquired talents and well trained abilities their mind is not made for this, their experience ought not want them to be what they are trying to be. At the same time, it might be erroneous to arrive at an arrant conclusion that he /she will fail. Few may excel, succeed and reach heights but at the end of the day it is the void that fills them as it is not truly what they want.

Putting aside the psychological aspects on why one should not choose their careers based on the scope, let us get into materialistic and economical approach. Consider an entrepreneur trying to find the best field to start his business in late 90’s. After extensive research he opens link of telephone booths and gains huge profit from them but as the years passed the need of telephone booth began to diminish due to the increased use of mobile phones and it became scarce to see at least one person a day in the booth. The same matches to job opportunities too. In this contemporary neoliberal capitalistic economy, nothing remains the same forever. The business we think flourishing right now with higher turn outs and job openings can reach dead bottom the other day and vice versa. But no room comes without door, by utilising the same neoliberalism offers one to find their recognition and success in any field they choose. Thus consideration of job opportunities becomes obsolete.

We cannot judge a fish by its ability to fly even though flying can get the fish near to more money. Many are not given the privilege of choosing their path only by focussing their interest and passion by completely eliminating the need to analyse the job opportunities the aftermath of their studies but it is important to put job scale to the second or third checklist after passion atleast in equivalent condition rather than making it a solo decision contributor