College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

College students possess high energy and vigour among themselves. They are the literally the future of mankind in the coming years and limiting their abilities in the basis of availability of jobs is absurd. If this were true, all college students would pick similar fields of study irrespective of their ability and talent towards that field but only to get a "job". I disagree with the statement that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that particular field.

The aptitude of a student towards a particular field will never be tested if only a mere job was the end goal. This would be because the person would be behind a job rather than exploring the fields. For example if a student is interested in Finance and Economics but since the jobs are limited in that field, he/she decides to study engineering which isn't her primary choice but the availability of jobs is ample. Hence, he/she sacrifices her talent towards her interest and runs behind a job which he/she may or may not get.

A person must understand that a "job" isn't the final goal, if you're good at something from that start you should aspire that field and do well in it. If you are confident and capable enough you'll land a job irrespective of the availability or maybe even start something of your own. For example, if a student who is exceptional at computer science and coding. He could easily create a software or an app that will earn himself an awful lot of money or since this issue is job specific, land a very good job with a high pay.

Of course the availability of job is a major concern in most of the fields today, but leaving your interests behind and going after a job that solely rest on uncertainty isn't the best option. If you're good at something and you pursue it, it will automatically result in success irrespective of the situation. Even though success may come sooner or later, we should focus on becoming capable rather than running after success.

To conclude this essay I must say that going after jobs isn't the answer. Achieving your dreams through your passion is the answer, a job may get you only so far in your life but a fiery passion for your interests will get you further.