In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Imagination, derived from the brain that makes you think of the most unthinkable things, while knowledge is something that takes time to assimilate and it develops over time. Both are important aspects of humans and I feel one isn’t complete without the other. In most professional and academic fields imagination isn’t always more important than knowledge but it does play a major part in creativity and uniqueness in professional fields.

Firstly, knowledge is extremely necessary in any type of field to have success, you can’t not have knowledge and execute work successfully unless it’s a fluke. For example, when a new person is hired for a job in a professional field, the first thing the recruiters test is his ability to solve problems and his knowledge about the field. They don’t care about the imagination or what abstract creativity he brings to the table on the first day, they will ultimately hire him for his profound sense and ability.

Secondly, knowledge is gained with patience and steady continuous learning. One cannot expect the deepest knowledge of a particular subject overnight. A teacher in an engineering college is promoted based on his knowledge of the subject and the ability to teach the kids in such a way in which the most arcane topics can easily be picked up by the students. Only when he successfully gets positive reviews from his students when they score amazing marks in their exams will his knowledge of the subject really be proven.

Sometimes the most knowledgeable people have the most creative minds. Here’s where imagination trumps knowledge. Sometimes the mind’s ability to imagine and recognize things is way more important than knowledge. For example, Sir Issac Newton, one the greatest scientists of all time would’ve never discovered gravity if he hadn’t thought about the apple falling on his head. Only such a creative and imaginative mind could do that, even though he had a tremendous amount of knowledge, it was his imaginative thinking which led him to discover gravity.

As you can see from the above views that knowledge is equally as important as imagination if not more and I believe that everyone has an imaginative mind of their own but knowledge is something that develops over time and is required for success in any field.