college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

I do not agree with the topic that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field. Rather, students should select their field of study based on their interest.

Firstly, the demand for any particular field is seen to be actually a vicious circle which repeats itself. When the field is new and emerging, there are a lot of jobs available. But as and when people start rushing towards that field, there are more job seekers than jobs. Due to this, competition increases and a lot of people are rendered jobless. IT industry can shed some light on this assertion. When it first became huge, a lot of jobs were required in the industry so people started rushing towards that field in masses. Right now, there is recession in the IT industry where a lot of employers are being layed off. It is very simple to understand that a field which is in demand right now is bound to have a period of recession due to competition. Hence, if a student base their choice of field of study on availability of jobs then it might be the case that those jobs are not available by the time he/she graduates.

On the contrary, students should choose a field of study on the basis of their interest. This will obviate the effect of ups and downs in the market. If a person feels ardent about a particular field and really works towards it then he/she doesn't need to worry about job availability. He/she will make its own place in the world by just being so good in that field. One more criteria which can be considered in choosing a field of study is global trends and need for the future. It is quite intuitive that the field which fulfils the need of the people in the future will definitely flourish. If one decided to study in that field, he/she wouldn't need to worry about jobs.

Not all students want to pursue jobs after their higher education. The important aspect of research should not be ignored. In fact, research encourages the students to choose a field of study which is not scrutinised yet so that more and more advances can be made in that field. Research will never go out of fashion, that is, it will always be in demand. Those students who have an interest in a particular field but do not prefer it because of lack of jobs should consider research as an option.

Lastly, I would like to put forward an exciting idea. Students should pursue the field of study which has less number of jobs currently. This will ensure less competition and there is a scope development. The student can take that field to a new level and in turn increase its demand. In this way, he/she won't be stuck in the vicious circle but instead will control that circle. Opening your own company or being self-employed may seem risky in the beginning but it can also result into success. Thus, my final take will be to not run after mainstream jobs and think about doing something different based on the global trends and needs of the people for a brighter future.