Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Knowledge is power - the power that can shape and develop the future of mankind, the whole world. But to gain this power, a proper and effective way of acquiring knowledge is mandatory. Knowledge that is not associated with reality cannot be of greater value than the knowledge that derives from experience and pragmatism. The policy stated in the prompt sets a requirement for all faculty to spend time outside their academic world and work on professions relevant to the courses. I strongly agree to assuming this policy, for two reasons.

Firstly, only bookish knowledge is not enough for gathering knowledge required to teach their students, working knowledge is also vital. In other words, if one does not possess the use and scope of their knowledge, one cannot teach their disciples effectively. Implementing the policy stated will have immense help in teaching and growing interest among the students. By working in relevant professions will make the faculties aware of the practical implementations of the academic field. They can enlighten the students, discuss how they can use the information they are gleaning merely from their academic curriculum. For example, a professor teaching robotics can teach their students about the microcontroller and actuators etc. But when the students know about their use in industries and other sectors, this actually gives them a purpose and grows the interest essential to gain a positive and long-term outcome from the course they are taking. This is no wonder when a professor associated with fabrication and design in lunar rovers interests his students in them too. Thus implementing the aforementioned policy really brings positive effects on the academic achievements and careers.

Further, if someone has no experience of working in relevant jobs, or at least consulting the job professionals, he or she will not know about the practical barriers of the implementation of their theoretical knowledge. Unaware of the limits, s/he will not even try to overcome them by finding the reasons behind he problems and developing a solution using their academic virtues. Getting to know the real world limits only can help them advance in their strive for solving problems. In the implementation of any theory, there remains some pracitcal barriers, some error associated with them. For example, we solve many numerical problems by using various numerical analysis methods. But all methods are not suitable for all kinds of problems - there exists no panacea. So there are even distinct departments whose sole goal is to find the proper methods for different practical problems, to introduce new modifications and incorporate them to minimize errors in measurements and calculations. So knowing practical barriers of implementations is vital for one's academic field to grow and flourish.

One might argue that spending time outside their academic environment might be a waste of valuable time of their academic life. But that is totally wrong. Almost every professor in any universities are associated with working, developing working principles of industries or at least, consultation jobs in any practical field. This makes academic knowledge contribute to public services directly- with twofold benefits, as it helps the academicians too in the ways explained above. So the policy that requires faculties to work in relevant jobs should be implemented for the immense benefit it will bring to the general public, students and faculties themselves.