The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musician in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument provided states that the Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for the parents who want their children to take music lessons. The reasons provided are the absence of auditions to get into the school, nearly all types of musical instruments and genres are covered, eminent musicians as mentors and finally, prospects of being successful musicians. At the first glance, the reasons might look cogent but there are many unstated assumptions that seriously weaken the argument, three of those assumptions are provided below.

Firstly the author assumes that the Mozart School of Music is the 'only' school in the area that comes with the benefits stated. In other words, the benefits mentioned in the argument might be provided by any other school situated in that area. There even might be schools with additional facilities- like intitutions involving theatre and dance lessons which will provide students a multidisciplinary learning environment. Students in such institutions will be able to work on theatrical music design or musical dance montages. Further, the passage states the Mozart school covers nearly all musical instruments. Say, rarely instructed instruments like 'Kalimba' or 'Theremin' are not in the schools curriculum, but other musical schools might offer courses on these instruments to interest students eager to learn them. So if this assumption of Mozart School being the only school to provide this facities prove unwarranted, the reasoning behind the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, it is assumed that the school's easy admission system that requires no audition interests parents in getting their children in the Mozart school. Parents might be interested in getting their children into music schools that requires a competitive admission process. That way, only truly interested and passionate children will get in the school which will contribute to a necessary seriousness among the students in achieving their goals. As students can get admitted regardless of their abilities and seriousness, one might find himself in an learning environment full of dillettantes, not eager in properly learning their music lessons. This situation will prove adverse and might even inhibit his growth as a musician. So the assumption that parents would prefer an institution with easy admission might prove unwarranted.

To be the first choice as a school depends of many factors other than the ones stated above. Assuming that the factors stated in the argument only strengthens their position as the best school of parents' choice can prove unwarranted, as the demands and expectations can vary greatly from person to person. Incorporating more evidences i.e. statistics presenting low percentages of dropout, poles presenting local people's inclination towards the school can strengthen the argument greatly. Otherwise, the claim that parents' first choice for enrolling their children in the Mozart school of music is seriously flawed if the assumptions behind the reasoning prove unwarranted.