When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is

still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's

parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an

average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business

district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that

Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as

popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more

benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for

socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author states that the Stanley Park is growing less popular due to the lack of proper seating arrangement, thus for popularizing Stanley park, ample seating facilities should be introduced. The author provides an example of another park with proper seating arrangements currently flourishing and the number of cars visiting the park daily to support his argument. The reasoning behind this argument is faulty because of three assumptions by the author.

Firstly, the author assumes that the number of cars visiting the park necessarily determines the popularity of the park. If the number of cars is the data we depend on to determine the popularity of any park, it would be very wrong. It might be the case that the park is visited by people for recreational uses, physical activities, biking, fishing, picnic, bird watching etc. They might use buses for school picnic, bikes or visit the park on foot than use cars to commute to the park. So the author assuming the number of cars as a sole evidence of the parks popularity does not seem rational.

Further, it is assumed that the people visiting the Carlton park on weekdays do that to actually use seating facilities of the park. The passage states that the park is located at the heart of the business district. Most of the people in a business district on weekdays might use the park as a daily route to their workplaces, or the park might just be a shortcut to go from some point to another point. They Nowhere is it stated that the people actually go there to sit and socialize. So the parks popularity might be illusive if this assumption proves false.

Finally, the author suggests that people prefer parks with seating arrangements for socializing to the parks without them. The park is not the only people people use to socialize. restaurants provide proper seating arrangements too for that purpose. Then again for sitting and having a good time does not necessarily require benches in a natural open space. Sitting on the grass does not seem too bad, does it? So, a parks fundamental essence might not be a proper seating arrangement per the author's assumption.

The overstated assumptions seriously weaken the rationality behind the argument that providing seating arrangements will help rejuvenating Stanly Park. More data in the above contexts should be gathered before taking the proper decision before attempting to revive the park.