Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Reading paper materials is better than watching electronic devices to gain information.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the advent of science and technology, there exist many ways for disseminating information throughout the world. The most popular media are paper materials, videography, audio, live shows, radio, television etc. Paper materials are undoubtedly the most ancient among them. The prompt states that we can gain information better from reading paper materials that from watching electronic devices. I strongly disagree with the statement for the following reasons.

Firstly, paper materials are secondary sources for gaining information as we have to look at any incident with someone else's eyes. To put it in another way, information on any paper material is written by someone who has witnessed it and then put the information into written materials in order to disseminate information. Sometimes it can be even tertiary information. Situations frequently arise, where the authencity of the information presented in the paper materials proves questionable. On the other hand, on electronic devices we can watch anything first-hand, and acquire more accurate information. We can watch the incident directly on our devices with nobody working as mediums between us and the news.

Furthermore, there are scopes for data manipulation in paper materials. One can easily talk about an incident in a way they want people to know. For instance, if a criminal writes his autobiography glorifying his crimes as greatness and intelligent endeavors, people might have a take at his crimes different from the actual one and grow sympathy for them. If they rather watched videos of his wrongdoings and heinous crimes, they would have a more clear idea that adheres to the truth. Incompetent writers can also unintentionally present facts in a way that is not adherent to the reality. So watching videographys on electronic decives better serves the purpose of gaining information in this case.

Lastly, there remain great scopes for bias as the incident can be described from a certain perspective. If an author decides to describe a political era as a very successful and completely peaceful one, the future generations acquiring information from the paper material will learn it that way. Now if the author were biased towards the ruling goverment in that period, his statements might not hold water when compared to the reality, as there might be some turbulent times which the author intentionally omitted in his writings. This can leave people misguided and misinformed, Watching incidents and documentaries on electronic devices solves this dilemma and provides more accurate presentation of any incident without any bias.

So from the discussion above, we can see that paper materials are susceptible to manipulation, bias and inaccuracy, which is not the case for watching electronic devices. Therefore, we should always try to get our hands on sustainable evidences liek videography, audio recording etc while gaining information to be sure of the accuracy.