Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Living today is more comfortable and easier than when your grandparents were children.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nostalgia is a trait of human minds that makes us reminiscent of the past. As nostalgic as one might be, nobody can deny the fact that life today is way easier than the life it was when our grandparents were little. I strongly agree with the statement in the prompt for several reasons.

Firsly, science and technology has come so far today from where it was in our grandparents' time. It has brought many comforts that were not even imaginable in the past. For example, living in a third-world country, our grandparents did not have electricity in their childhood, meaning they had no electric bulbs to illuminate their rooms, ceiling fans for comfort or water pumps to provide constant water supply. These are just some technologies without which we cannot imagine to go on with our everyday life. Improvement in the technology sector has undoubtedly made our life easier and more agreeable.

Further, automated industries have made products of our need available to everyone at very low cost. In early days when our grandparents were children, price of decent clothing were very high as they were made with handlooms, which required a great amount of manual labor and time for production. Consequently, poor people were known to wear little clothings that revealed their status at the very first sight and reuse it fr a long time. But with the use of automated machines, thousands of feet of fabrics can be produced within a very short time period and many dresses can be sewn and put together automatically by different machines. Introducing automation to the industries has made necessary commodities more available to everyone than ever.

Lastly, in the earlier time, people had little to no access to the vast amount of information contemporary to their time. So many of those people possessed narrow outlook like a frog in the well. There was no medium to disseminate information from one corner of the world to another. Thanks to the information technology, people now have access to more information meaning they can be privy to many opportunities to avail that might have been unknown to them in the distant past. This enables a man to transform their desire into reality and take whichever course they want to take in their life. Status of an individual is more fluid in the society than it was before, meaning one can have numerous ways to prosper if one wants so.

There are many more examples to strengthen my position such as availability of automobiles, improvement in health care sector, higher level of awareness, sense of rights and duties among citizens that can be presented. So to sum up, living today is undoubtedly more comfortable and easier than that my grandparents experienced when they were little.