Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their

citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how

these examples shape your position.

Music, literature and Arts are the essence of our human minds. To quote Robin Williams in 'Dead Poet's Society'- "Science, Engineering, Law these are important for human life, but music, beauty, arts- are things that keep us alive.'' Inspite of starting my response with a strong inclination towards arts, I strongly agree with the statement the prompt provides - Hunger & unemployment cannot be quenched with arts, Government should be focusing on solving issues that directly affect people's basic needs. I will explain my position with two reasoning.

Firstly, We all know five basic human needs - Food, Clothes, Shelter, Education and Health. Arts and music is needed, for sure, but can one feed on music when hungry, or drink literary pieces when thirsty? Many great artists and writers have contributed greatly to their respective fields even under bad circumstances and national crisis. But to expect governmental funding for them instead of spending those funds for hungry, malnourished and unemployed destitute people is a bit outrageous. History has always supported the theory recommended in the prompt.During the liberation war of Bangladesh in 1971, artists and writers motivated the freedom fighters and general people to fight against the oppressors, thus contributing to the solution of the national crisis. But most people in Bangladesh were jobless and strike with maddening hunger, so the financial help and funds from other countries were entirely spent in supporting the general people devoid of basic needs, not those who were practicing arts in a very effective and memorable way. When the majority of the nation needs food or jobs, squandering funds on arts and music cannot be supported.

Further, there are well-established theories about stages of development. It's no wonder that arts and music are not appreciated or does not flourish well in an hunger stricken country. When the national economy is strong enough, general people can spend their time in practicing and appreciating arts, funding them to support the artists who also enjoys the perquisites of a well-developed nation. But if a third-world country plans to fund arts when people are hunger stricken and unemployed, it should be considered a great luxury. Until a nation reaches a the final stage of the development hierarchy, funding for arts will always be scarce, and even non-existing when facing nationwide crisis.

Good music can soothe one's soul, good arts can be treat to eyes and a good piece of literature always broadens a mind. A good body cannot survive without the peace of mind. This philosophical point of view makes assuming a rigid position very hard. But when you think of people dying of hunger, wanting funds for your artworks does seem egregious. So, the reasoning presented above strongly supports the thesis. Government funding should be allocated in a way so that majority of people can fulfill their needs, people being the utmost priority in a nation. So arts and culture can survive and thrive later as long as people live to exercise and promulgate them.