Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Smartphones have caused more harm than good to our society.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the advent of technology, many services and gadgets, that were unimaginable in the early times, are now essential to our day to day life. Smartphones are one of those wonders of science, which are basically mini-computers, so to speak, that too in the size of our palms. Personally, I believe that smarphones provide man benefits to the users. Therefore, I do not agree with the prompt stating that, smartphones have caused more harm than good to our society. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, the smartphones provide us with numerous benefits, way more than just the basic feature of calling and messaging. Using today's smartphones, one can find their routes on maps online, manage daily schedule, perform calculations, store big amounts of data and many more. Services like data management, time management and most importantly connecting effectively with people has made the users' everyday lives easier than they ever were. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. Before having a smartphone, I had to carry a notebook all the time to keep track of the upcoming events in my schedule. However, I used to misplace the notebook frequently. On top of that, there was no way a to set reminders that could notify me of the even at a certain time. But using a smartphone, I can organize my plans effectively and receive timely reminders. This has made my life way more organized. Clearly, a smartphone can help people lead a better life by providing numerous services and features.

Furthermore, some downsides of using smartphones can be solved by the smartphone itself as well as changing the mindset of the users in question. The main downside of using a smartphone is addiction to smartphone, which brings about other problems such as eye problems, headache, insomnia, migrain, shoulder-ache etc. as a result of looking at the screen for a long periond. To solve this problem, there are usage managements apps, that can regulate the amount of time spent on the phone. For instance, if a person sets their daily limit of app usage to a certain amount of time, he/she will not be able to access their phone or that particular app after that much time is up. This cancels out one of the main downside of using smartphones.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that smartphones are not harmful, rather it brings about great benefits to the society. The apparent downsides can be eliminated by a refined mindset of the users and sometimes even the smartphone itself can come to the rescue.