Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Even though academic world and industry are interrelated, they are two different worlds and both require different elements to succeed. Some people argue that professors and faculty members should spend time working outside of the academia. I partially disagree with the statement in that requiring all faculty to do so is unreasonable and the role of professor is teaching students and conducting research.

Granted, some faculty should better spend time working in professions relevant to their fields of study to build real-life experience. In fast-changing fields, including computer science and engineering, the development speed of industry sometimes far exceeds that of academic world. Research labs in Microsoft, Facebook, or Google are known to be the leading laboratories in the world, even including the major stem institutes like MIT, Caltech, or others. That is, it is necessary to have real work experience to reflect the cutting-edge research conducted in such leading tech industries. Furthermore, by working in industries, professors can reflect the state-of-the-art technology to students' curriculum and also can offer sincere advises to students who want to build career in industry. From this perspective, I believe that it is beneficial for some faculty members to spend time working outside of acadmia.

Even so, the author's claim that requiring all faculty to work outside is rather irrational; not all faculty members should be working outside because there are many different types of faculty members in colleges and universities. For instances, there are faculty members working in management of school, in research team, advising and consulting team, and many others. In other words, it is a hasty generalization to assume all faculty members are in the same situations. Furthermore, professors are differentiated in many positions, like associate professor, senior professor, lecturer, and etc. Lecturers usually have less experience in research and teaching and yet to receive tenure. It would be onerous to require such lecturers to have working experience in industry, instead of conducting research in schools. Thus, requiring all faculty to spend time working outside of academia is unreasonable.

Finally, the main role of professor is teaching students and conducting research, not working outside the academic world. It is true that real-life experience in leading industry would be beneficial to some extent, but professor should better focus on how to teach students well and how to conduct better research. Professors who spend time working outside fundamentally will spend less time on students and their own research, and this ultimately undermines the universities. Without offering the best education and conducting the most advanced research, how many students would come to universities? Thus, faculty members should not spend too much time working outside the academic world because the role of professor is teaching and doing research.

Industry and academia are strongly connected nowadays, so it is beneficial for academic faculty to have some experience in industry in that they can learn the cutting-edge technology from industry and reflect the newest theories to curriculum. However, that does not mean requring all faculty to work outside the academia because there are many different positions in faculty and the main role of professor is teaching and research. Therefore, colleges and universities can advise some faculty to spend time working outside the academic world but should not require all of them to do so.