The following is the memorandum from the business manager of a television station:

"Over the past years, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, the local businesses, that used to advertise during our late night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

In this memorandum, the business manager of a television station argues that the station should devote more time to weather and local news to its previous levels in order to attract more viewers and to avoid losing advertising revenues. However, careful consideration of the argument reveals that it lends no credible support to the argument and makes three leaps in reasoning to make a mistaken investment.

First of all, the author unfairly assumes that local businesses would not cancel their advertising contracts if the station restore its time to local news to former levels. Yet, the author fails to substantiate. It could be that local businesses canceled their contracts not because the amount of time devoted to local news is reduced but because they found alternative advertising methods like internet. These days, local businesses can easily advertise with Google's location based advertisments. Without further investigation, it is hasty to conclude that other local businesses will not cancel their contracts with the station, even they devote more time to local news and weather.

Next, the claim by the business manager that the station would attract more viewers to the program by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news is not well substantiated. Just because the station received concerns with its coverage of weather and local news, it is hasty to conclude that more viewers will be attracted if it spend more time on weather and local news. Consider that the station received more concerns after late-night news program increased its time to national news, the viewers simply complained because the program coverage changed. The viewers could already adapt to new program coverage, and thus changing the program would not lead increase of new viewers. Rather, if the station devote more time to weather and local news to its former levels, the viewers may complain again concerned with station's decreased national news this time. Thus, it is hasty to conclude late-night news program would attract more viewers simply by devoting time to weather and local news.

Finally, the author assumes that change in late-night news would have significant results to its viewers. Yet, the author fails to consider that it is just a "late-night news". Granted that some viewers want more local news and weather than national news, it would not have significant increase in viewers because the program is fundamentally a late-night news program. There are not so many people watching news until late night, and it is hard to consider the late-night viewers are interested in local businesses or weather tomorrow. It could be that late-night viewers are more interested in national and global breaking news. Increase time on weather and local news would not have any meaningful result. Thus, it is hard to believe the author's argument that devoting time to weather and local news will attract more viewers to the program.

To sum, the author's argument that restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its previous levels would attract more viewers and avoid losing advertising revenues is logically flawed with the above mentioned reasons. To strengthen his or her argument, the author needs to carefully examine all possible factors and conditions.