The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author claims that parents should consider enrolling their child in the Mozart School of Music. However, careful consideration of the argument reveals that it lends no credible support to the claim and makes three leaps in logic.

First of all, the author's claim the Mozart School has the most distinguished musicians in the area unfairly assumes that the school has musicians of wide range for each genre and each instrument. Yet, the author's argument is not substantiated. In fact, the author does not mention what musical instrument the musicians play and what genres are their favorites. No information is given about the styles, genres, or musical instruments of the distinguished musicians. Lacking such information, we cannot tell if the number of distinguished musicians for each instrument is balanced or not. It could be that most of the musicians are piano soloist and majored classical music only, so there are no one who can professionally teach other instruments or rock music. To strengthen the argument, the author should provide information about the musical instrument and major genre of each musician. Without such information, it is hasty to consider that the Mozart School of Music is the first choice for parents.

Next, the author's assumption that all students would like to become highly paid professional musicians is not well-supported. As Mozart School of Music accepts children at all ability and age levels without audition, each student must have different purpose of taking music lessons. It could be that some students are taking lessons for hobby and just wanted to play a few songs for fun. Or it could be that some students want to go to universities and conservatories in Germany for further studey after graduating the Mozart School. No information is given that every student has the same goal of becoming professional musician. Unless the author gives further information that the Mozart School is suitable for further education or learning for pastime, it is hasty to conclude that enrolling in the Mozart School of Music is the best choice for children.

Finally, the author's argument that the Mozart School accepts children without audition assumes that each student in music lessons can have different skills. Because the level of each student can vary from the beginner to the advanced, accepting students without audition can trigger some music lessons to be mixed with novice and expert students. It could also be that some students want elite classical music lessons to prepare for conservatories or musical universities, while others want to play rock band music with other students just for fun. To strengthen his or her argument, the author should provide information that the school is offering various classes and lessons. Without such information, the author's claim that the Mozart School is the first choice sounds unpersuasive.

To sum, the author's claim that the Mozart School of Music is the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons is logically flawed based on the above mentioned reasons. To strengthen his or her argument, the author needs to provide other factors and conditions. Without such information, the author's claim remains unreasonable.