Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to that they teach.

In today's world, we are witnessing wholesale changes in every industry whether it be science and technology, healthcare, agriculture, business and what not. Also, these changes are brought about in a very rapid pace giving an individual very minimal or no time in getting acquainted to them. The faculty members of a college or a university teach students what they have experienced and what they studied when they were younger. At times, they fail to keep their teachings up to the mark with the latest inventions and discovery. So to keep up with today's pace, a hands-on experience along with teaching would be of great benefit not only to the students but also to themselves. So, I truly believe that colleges and universities should require their faculty to work outside to get a clearer picture.

The academic world is an important cog for every country and has many factors influencing it. The more experienced the faculty is, the better understanding he/she has and together make a country's academic field richer. For instance, consider the example of the former President of India Mr. APJ Abdul Kalam. Before entering into politics he was a great teacher. His teachings in the field of science and technology mainly astronomy was not only influenced by what he studied when he was younger but his overall hands-on experience in working with ISRO simultaneously played a great part in his teachings. He was better equipped to teach students what he experienced and could delineate each and every work he did in ISRO along with his teaching. His teachings benefitted the students in a great way and as a result of that boosted the academics in India to greater heights.

However, I do feel that working along with teaching can be quite burdensome but the reality today is that no one will ask you if your overall development is not that good. A good balance between both must be the primary goal of the teacher and should work whole-heartedly towards it. For instance, the academic policy in China is such that it requires its academic professors and other faculty members to get an industry job before getting into teaching. I feel this is a very fruitful idea and can be advantageous in many ways as it will help in overall development.

Therefore, in conclusion, I would say that experience is a key factor in every aspect and must be given a great deal of importance. The more the teachers get acquainted to newer technology, the better it will be for students' understanding and pave way for greater success in future.