The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The author of the memorandum feels that keeping the college all-female would benefit the college in many ways and therefore is in favor of it. However, I believe that the author's claims are flawed and too presumptuous. The reasons provided by the author to support his stand do not hold any definite grounds and therefore are unpersuasive as it stands. Also, some of the author's claims are based on unsubstantiated assumptions that make the argument weaker and ill-reasoned.

Firstly, the author states that the college should keep on following the century old-tradition rather than bringing about a change to it that would hamper its progress. However, I do not agree with the author's idea. Here, the author is being too presumptuous in saying that the century old tradition will work for the college even now. Technology and people's way of thinking are developing at a rapid pace and new-traditions are brought every day. So to stay on with the past traditions does not guarantee any success in this rapidly modernizing world. Had the author provided any examples of other colleges implementing the same policy and being fruitful in the same, it would have bolstered the author's claims and provided it support.

Moreover, though the faculty members were happy with the change of bringing in coeducation, the author says that more than 80 percent of the students and half of the alumnae were not in favor of it. Here, the author's argument lacks statistical evidences and data which proves the same. It would quite be possible that the college would have had only 50 students and 80 percent of that it a very small number to judge a decision. Similarly, is the case with the alumnae members. There is no clarity, how many people have voted for the same. Also, faculty members should be given more importance and their decision should be more valued as they are more experienced and therefore can provide a better opinion to the change.

Lastly, the author feels that keeping the college all-female would boost the morale among the students and convince the alumnae to keep supporting the college financially. However, I feel here the author's thinking is too narrow-minded and does not take into account the broader perspective. I feel that changing the college to coed will bring much more competition among the students and would lead to highly boost the morale of the students to compete for the best. The author also does not take into account the financial gain the college might be able to get when more students take admission in the college. So, I feel the author needs to broaden his/her thinking to make his argument more believable.

Therefore, in conclusion, I would say that the author's arguments are flawed and based on in cogent reasons. Had the author kept the above suggestions in mind, it would have bolstered the author's claims. The author must work on adding evidences to support the claims and to make the argument well-reasoned and convincing.