The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the passage feels that Mozart School of Music must be the best option for parents to enroll their children in for music lessons. To support his stand he gives a few reasons. But, in my view, the author's claims are spurious and lie on unsubstantiated assumptions. To prove my reasoning, I have stated the following points.

Firstly, the author feels that it is good of Mozart School to consider students from any age group to take admission in their school, that too without any auditions. I feel that this policy adopted by the school can have pretty bad consequences in the future. For instance, the students seeking admission in this school would become too complacent and not properly focus on their music as they would think that they would anyways get admission into the school without having to prove anything. So I feel, that this policy is flawed and there would not be any competition between students to get into the school which would thereby damage the school's reputation.

Moreover, to sing praises of the school, the author says that the school offers instructions in nearly all musical instruments as well as wide range of styles and genres. However, I believe that offering a specialized training to one particular style or genre is a much better idea than offering instructions in various styles and genres. I say so because specialization or dedicated training in a particular style can be far more advantageous for the learner than to cope up with different styles simultaneously. That is why, I feel that the author's claims are unpersuasive and needs amendment.

Lastly, the author claims that the school's faculty includes some of the best and the school's graduates have gone on to become popular and heftily paid professional musicians. However, the author's claims here lack evidence. The author's claims are not supported by any proof or data that could prove this. Had the author specified any statistical report or rankings for the same it would have bolstered the author's claims. So, I feel that the author's claims are unsubstantiated and lacks any piece of evidence.

Therefore, in conclusion the author's claims about the school being the best option for parents to get their children enrolled in are faulty and do not hold any ground. Had the author kept the above suggestions in mind, it would have bolstered the author's claims. To make the argument believable, the author must include pieces of evidence that support the claims and make the argument well-reasoned.