Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Colleges and universities are places which require carefully designed policies and plans - which is generally the case - because they are one of the most sensitive of the fields, as the manpower that is produced by them are focal to the development and progress of any nation. The author, here, claims that the colleges and universities should ask of their faculties to work outside of the college/university premises in vocations that are relevant to the courses they teach. I mostly agree with the author that the faculties should be required to experience the nature of professions that are directly related to their courses for two reasons. Yet, in some cases, this requirement from the teachers/lecturers can turn out to be taxing, leading to rather decreased effectiveness of the teaching-learning.

There should definitely be a connecting link between the academic arena and the actual profession, which the universities and colleges are preparing the students for. At times, the requirements of a profession related to a course being taught at the colleges, might be different from the skills that are imparted to a student at the college. A novice at a profession is almost certainly to have some sorts of discomforts or uneasiness at doing works. If the above-mentioned policy is implemented, the apparent gap is abridged to some extent, because the faculties would now be cognizant of the requirements of the profession, and thus can integrate those skills in their teaching-learning practice. The faculties would come to know about the dynamics of the job-markets, their tendencies and shifts, changing nature of the job requirements etc.

Besides preparing the students for job markets, implementing this policy would foster the problem-solving capacity of the students, because the students, themselves, are the workforce of the future. The faculties as they are aware of the comforts and difficulties of the professions, can impart a good insight into the problem-solving skills of their students. A computer engineer at a college, however talented he may be, may have some difficulties regarding the accomplishment of the works as demanded by the profession. It is where, the policy would come to the rescue - preparing the students for the worst or best possible scenarios through valuable experience, albeit second-hand, at the profession itself.

While certainly the policy would bring forth a lot of benefits, there are few thing that might not be too encouraging. Requiring to do multiple tasks at the same time could exhaust the faculties of energy, potentially waning the efficacy of the teaching-learning process. Some field of academics, which are already quite energy-demanding, might not benefit too much from this policy. Well, researchers don not have exactly a profession, do they? The policy would thus could as of little significance in such cases.

In a nutshell, the author proposition that the faculties in colleges and universities should work outside of the academic world, if implemented, would be quite beneficial to both the sides - the academics and the professional field, yet some exceptions exist, whose shortcomings are easily outweighed by the benefits.