Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

In whatever forms of the governments, the governments are essentially accountable to the public they serve, because they are, in most cases around the world, elected democratically or chosen from the merit-based examinations. In democracy, the notion that everyone is free to exercise their powers and self-will is acceptable to most people. The author of this prompt presents two contrasting views of people about government officials, with regard to their decision-making. I align with the view that, the government officials should carry out the will of the public they serve because of two reasons, yet some exceptions are present.

To begin, the officials elected or chosen to the public posts are representative of the public (or constituencies) they are elected by or chosen from, and should therefore serve to the will of their people. In democracy, people have rights to elect their own representatives to important public posts such as Mayor of the City, the President, the Governor and likewise, who in turn, pledge to dedicate themselves to meeting the demands of the public and aligning to their sentiments and opinions. If they do not align to the popular sentiments and act willfully, there may arise dissatisfaction towards the authorities and may even call forth some serious rebellions in extreme cases. A state of rule and order is probably achieved if the people comply to the laws and orders of the state, and the leaders or the officials are considerate about the desires, needs and requirements of its public.

Taking decisions based on their own judgement by the public representatives can even bring forth some serious - and unwanted - consequences in the society that can disturb peace and harmony, and even impede the social growth. For example, the public in Lebanon came to the streets, giving rise to city-wide protests and riots leading to destruction last month, in response to a series of incompetent attempts by the government in handling of the Corona Virus pandemic and a long existing corrupted reputation of their officials. If those officials had served the will of the public they serve, the country would probably not have come across such a consequence.

However, the government officials, in some cases, may bank on their judgements to take some hard decisions. The public has some prejudices and can sometimes be driven emotionally into asking some unjust services from their authority. For example, if a group protests in favor of freeing a criminal from the police custody - which can be the case some times because the public may be sentimental - but a government official in charge of the case would sound more rational if he did not yield to the public demands.

In conclusion, since the government officials are endowed with power and authority, they are expected to serve to the will of the people they serve, and not merely act on their judgements, while in some cases, doing so can save them from embarrassment.