ABC

The president and administrative staff of Grove College come to the conclusion that, Grove School should continue its long existing tradition of enrolling only female students and not accept males into their programs, based on some survey results from among the students. The author of this argument is potentially valid, but before the argument can be assessed correctly and recommended to be implemented by the college's governing committee, three questions must be answered by the proponents of the proposition.

Firstly, is the 80 percent of the students responding to a survey a fair representation of the students as a whole in the college? It may be possible that the students who participated in the survey are all females, or even majority of them are females, which significantly drives the results of the survey into the realms of biasedness. If it is true that a significant portion of the respondents were females, they may be more inclined to an opinion that the college should only accept female enrollments. If any of these cases come as true, the persuasiveness of the argument is remarkably undermined.

Secondly, are the respondents from the alumnae of the college aware of the present status of the college and the needs that are required because of the dynamism of the world. It may be possible that, the participants from among the alumnae are, from their stint at the college, are biased towards the only-females opinion, and not necessarily analyze if the co-education is actually required in the college. For example, they may have been, during their study years, constantly harassed or bullied by their male friends in colleges they studied before enrolling in the current one, where they found comparatively more just and equitable environment free from discriminations. Unless the author is able to answer the question whether the respondents are being driven towards their opinion or standing on the basis of some prejudices of biases, the argument may not hold a lot of credibility.

Thirdly, the author assumes that, a causal relationship exists between the morale of the students and their gender, which is again flawed. The author also assumes that the alumnae will only be convinced to help the college financially only if the college complies to their opinions. It may be possible that the ones that were constantly helping the college were from the other 50% of the alumnae who took position in favour of co-education.

While the recommendation by the president and administrative staff may prove to be beneficial to the college in boosting up the morale of the students and perhaps even strengthening the financial position of the college, it is based on a lot of unwarranted assumptions, which do not lend a lot credibility unless the author of the argument is able to answer the questions raised in the paragraphs above.