Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this argument, refering to some anthropologists, recommends that interview-centered method be followed as the methodology of future researches that are centered around the study of children in the island of Tertia. The author comes to this conclusion by citing the results of Dr. Karp which showed that, the children in the group of islands surveyed spent more time talking about their biological parents and hence were reared by the parents rather than collective raising by the society. Before the validity of the recommendation can be assessed, the author must provide persuasive answers to three questions.

. Firstly, are the studies done in two time frames, twenty years apart, even comparable? It may be possible that, the islands have significantly changed over such a long period of time with respect to social circumstances, education level, and several other aspects of the society that may be in close association with the upbringing of the children. It is possible that, people in the past prefered to live in close groups and spaces which, in contrast, may have changed to living in isolated families. The population of the islands may have fallen giving rise to fewer contact between the families living there. The recommendation clearly falls short of plausibilty, should the author of this argument fail to provide the answer to whether the patterns of culture, attitudes and living conditions of people from two different points of time have changed in the period.

Secondly, does the study of the group of islands including Tertia, represents Tertia alone unbiasedly? It may be possible that, Tertia is quite different to other islands included in the research in terms of societal cultures and several other circumstances. It is also possible that, Tertia is relatively a small island, and because of the size, people are more closely spaced in housings and hence the intimacy and children's talking about other adults of the society. For example, because of the smaller size, the territories of the families may overlap and thus a collective rearing of a child in the society is possible. If the author fails to provide answers to the question about the nature of the society, the persuasiveness of the recommendation sharply falls.

Thirdly, how significant is the word 'some' in relation to the number of the anthropologists suggesting the idea of using the interview-centered approach? It may be possible that, the number is not significant at all; alternatively, the number of anthropologists advocating the other method may be greater. Just from the suggestions of few, an all-encompassing generalization doesn't sound too convincing.

In conclusion, the recommendation may sound persuasive at first sight, upon careful analysis is rife with assumptions and incomplete with evidences. However, the author should provide plausible answers to the questions raised in above paragraphs before the recommendation can be held true, else, it just falls short of meat.